top of page

Board of Directors

Chesapeake Orchestra, Inc.

The mission and legacy of The Maryland Youth Symphony Orchestra will now continue under the umbrella of the Chesapeake Orchestra, a professional orchestra directed by MYSO alumnus Jeffrey Silberschlag, whilst keeping the Maryland Youth Symphony Orchestra and its name intact. Maestro Silberschlag will bring a wealth of experience to the MYSO as you see in his bio. You will also see that the Chesapeake Orchestra musicians are among the leading performers of the Baltimore-Washington, DC region many of whom come from the top military bands and Kennedy Center Orchestra. These musicians will be available for coaching, master classes and side-by-side performances with the MYSO students.The Chesapeake Orchestra also has a collaborative partner with the Alba Music Festival in northern Italy. The opportunity for international travel will be made available using the Alba Music Festival as a base for touring. The MYSO enjoyed a memorable concert tour there in 2009, performing four concerts in different venues in the region.


“The Maryland Youth Symphony’s legacy is too important to lose. I am very grateful to Angelo Gatto for inspiring me to choose a career in music. He did the same for my sons 35 years later. Mr. Gatto always had a special view on the classical repertoire, which included a special affinity with the great Italian and German repertoire. He always treated the orchestra and its students as a professional ensemble and was very demanding. At the same time, he had a great devotion and affection for the students. His attention to detail and style was fundamental in my preparation. I would not have been able to perform under the batons of the likes of George Solti, Ricardo Chailly, Giuseppe Sinopoli, and Daniel Barenboim, as principal trumpet of the Orchestra Sinfonica della RAI di Torino, if I had not had the experience with Mr. Gatto.” -Maestro Jeffrey Silberschlag

Board of Directors

Hillary Howard

Dr. Terence Bertele

Peggy Binzel

Rick Dempsey

Carolyn Egeli

Mike O’Brien

Cynthia Stultz

Jim Stultz

Robin Witte

Deborah Greitzer, Executive Director

Jeffrey Silberschlag, Founder & Music Director


MYSO Board 

Hillary Howard, President

Carolyn Egeli, VP

Hillary Howard, President

bottom of page